<address id="9bvhz"></address>

        <address id="9bvhz"><nobr id="9bvhz"><meter id="9bvhz"></meter></nobr></address>

              A picture for the book Jane Eyre

              Jane Eyre

              Charlotte Bronte published Jane Eyre on October 16, 1847 under the pseudonym, Currer Bell. The American edition appeared a year later. The novel follows the classic Bildungsroman genre; structured as a coming-of-age story where Jane Eyre progresses from a young orphan into a woman; the reader follows the heroine's character development, emotional travails, and moral development.

              Jane Eyre's setting is an unspecified location in northern England, presented as five distinct stages: 1) Jane's childhood where, as an orphan at Gateshead Hall she is tormented by her cousin John; 2) She is then sent away to a charity school, Lowood School; 3) Her governorship at Thornfield Hall where she falls in love with Edward Rochester; 4) Her time with the Rivers family where she receives her first marriage proposal; and finally; 5) Her reunion and marriage to her beloved, Rochester.

              "I am no bird; and no net ensnares me: I am a free human being with an independent will.”

              Charlotte Bronte dedicated the novel to William Makepeace Thackeray. It remains on many high school reading lists, and is featured in our Feminist Literature Study Guide.

              Chapter I

              Chapter II

              Chapter III

              Chapter IV

              Chapter V

              Chapter VI

              Chapter VII

              Chapter VIII

              Chapter IX

              Chapter X

              Chapter XI

              Chapter XII

              Chapter XIII

              Chapter XIV

              Chapter XV

              Chapter XVI

              Chapter XVII

              Chapter XVIII

              Chapter XIX

              Chapter XX

              Chapter XXI

              Chapter XXII

              Chapter XXIII

              Chapter XXIV

              Chapter XXV

              Chapter XXVI

              Chapter XXVII

              Chapter XXVIII

              Chapter XXIX

              Chapter XXX

              Chapter XXXI

              Chapter XXXII

              Chapter XXXIII

              Chapter XXXIV

              Chapter XXXV

              Chapter XXXVI

              Chapter XXXVII

              Chapter XXXVIII--Conclusion

              Return to the Charlotte Bronte library.