<address id="9bvhz"></address>

        <address id="9bvhz"><nobr id="9bvhz"><meter id="9bvhz"></meter></nobr></address>

              A picture for the book Robinson Crusoe

              Robinson Crusoe

              The novel Robinson Crusoe tells the story of a young and impulsive Englishman that defies his parents' wishes and takes to the seas seeking adventure. The young Robinson Crusoe is shipwrecked and castaway on a remote tropical island for 28 years. The story may be based on the true-life events of Alexander Selkirk, a Scottish castaway who survived four years on a Pacific island, or Henry Pitman, a political rebel surgeon castaway from a Caribbean penal colony. This classic tale of adventure features cannibals, captives, and mutineers. Some regard it as the very first modern novel written in the English language, launching the publishing industry.

              Daniel Defoe published Robinson Crusoe on April 25, 1719. An interesting fact is that the original title was 374 characters long: The Life and Strange Surprizing Adventures of Robinson Crusoe, Of York, Mariner: Who lived Eight and Twenty Years, all alone in an un-inhabited Island on the Coast of America, near the Mouth of the Great River of Oroonoque; Having been cast on Shore by Shipwreck, wherein all the Men perished but himself. With An Account how he was at last as strangely deliver'd by Pyrates.

              This text features the sublime illustrations of N.C. Wyeth-- works of art to be admired in their own right. Those interested in exploring different theories of Defoe's character inspiration may be interested in Who Is the Real Robinson Crusoe?

              Featured in our collection of Books for Young Readers.

              Chapter 1: Start in Life

              Chapter 2: Slavery and Escape

              Chapter 3: Wrecked on a Desert Island

              Chapter 4: First Weeks on the Island

              Chapter 5: Builds a House - The Journal

              Chapter 6: Ill and Conscience-Stricken

              Chapter 7: Agricultural Experience

              Chapter 8: Surveys His Position

              Chapter 9: A Boat

              Chapter 10: Tames Goats

              Chapter 11: Finds Print of Man's Foot on the Sand

              Chapter 12: A Cave Retreat

              Chapter 13: Wreck of a Spanish Ship

              Chapter 14: A Dream Realised

              Chapter 15: Friday's Education

              Chapter 16: Rescue of Prisoners from Cannibals

              Chapter 17: Visit of Mutineers

              Chapter 18: The Ship Recovered

              Chapter 19: Return to England

              Chapter 20: Fight Between Friday and a Bear

              Return to the Daniel Defoe library.